Sign transits by the major planets

The zodiac signs rule specific matters pertaining to the global agenda.

The situation can be summarized:

Manufacturing and military affairs (Aries); finances and banks (Taurus); transportation and communication (Gemini); home and family matters (Cancer); speculation, amusement and children (Leo); work, labor and sickness (Virgo); international relations and war (Libra); death, debt and taxes (Scorpio); religion, law and tourism (Sagittarius); business, government administration and diplomacy (Capricorn); humanitarian issues, human rights and technology (Aquarius); and restriction, disappointment, relief measures, crime and slavery (Pisces).

The 193 countries that currently (2020) comprise the global community are each ruled by a zodiac sign but the data that’s currently available in regard to this matter is so uncertain that it can’t be relied on.

The major planets

The major planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto and as they transit the zodiac that have a distinct influence on the matters pertaining to the signs.

Jupiter’s influence is towards expansion, growth, capital investment and rising prices.

Saturn’s influence is towards contraction, cut-backs, austerity, hardship and falling prices.

Uranus’s influence is towards radical developments, democratic reforms, change, reformation, revolution and invention.

Neptune’s influence is towards schemes, idealistic expectations, promotion, fraud, deception, easy money and getting rich quick.

Pluto’s influence is towards group involvement, cooperative effort, drastic measures, crime, corruption and misinformation.

Sign transit duration times

Jupiter takes 12 years to transit the zodiac so it spends 12 months visiting each sign.

It’s a rather brief stay and the trend indicated by a specified transit can be difficult to discern.

Saturn takes approximately 29.5 years to transit the zodiac so it spends about 2 and half years in each sign.

This is a relatively short transit time but due to Saturn’s discordant nature the trend indicated by its sign transit is easy to identify.

Uranus takes 84 years to transit the zodiac so it spends 7 years in each sign.

This is a relatively long transit time and due to the disruptive and radical nature of Uranus the trend indicated by its sign transit is easy to detect and identify.

Neptune takes approximately 164 years to transit the zodiac so it spends approximately 13 years in each sign.

But transit times do vary.

Neptune is in Pisces from February 4, 2012 to March 31, 2025 – 13 years; and it’s in Aries from March 31, 2025 to March 24, 2039 – 14 years.

Whatever, the trend indicated is easy to identify due to Neptune’s idealistic, dreamy nature and strong tendency to generate deception and confusion.

Pluto takes approximately 248 years to transit the zodiac so its visits each sign for approximately 20 years, but transit times vary greatly.

Pluto is in Capricorn from November 26, 2008 to January 20, 2024 – 15 years; and it’s in Aquarius from January 20, 2024 to March 10, 2043 – 19 years.

Whatever, the trend indicated is easy to detect due to Pluto’s coercive, drastic nature and its strong tendency towards group involvement and crime.

It’s not uncommon for a planet to move to a sign and then, due to its retrograde motion, move back to the sign it departed.

In this instance what’s signified by the sign transit usually becomes evident after the planet has permanently left the old sign and has established itself in the new sign.

What you need to know

A major planet’s sign transit is just one of a number of astrological influences impacting the global agenda.

You’re relying on the media to provide you with an events report to clarify its trend, but events mapped by the aspects in the major cycle charts tend to dominate the news queue so this can be difficult.

Nevertheless the sign transits of the major planets do influence world trends.

Author: DW Sutton

Astrology for Aquarius – sharing our knowledge

Move to Top